EU Agrees to Sanction China for Human Rights Abuses Against Uighurs

Most Western countries have imposed new sanctions on Chinese officials for the persecution of Uighurs in China's Xinjiang province.

On Monday, the European Union, the United States, the United Kingdom and Canada announced the ban as part of a concerted effort.

The new ban includes confiscating the assets of four Chinese people and one organization and restricting their travel. Among them is the Xinjiang Police Chief.

Soon after, China imposed sanctions on ten people and four organizations from the European Union.

Human rights activists say the Chinese government has been torturing around a million Uighurs and other Muslims in Xinjiang since 2016. Human rights are being violated in the province and crimes such as genocide are being committed there.

Human rights groups have complained that Uighurs are taught Mandarin Chinese at a camp called Shiksha Shibir. Speaking of praising the Communist Party and strictly remembering the rules governing its proper conduct. They are forced to criticize or abandon their own religious beliefs. As part of these practices, the Chinese government is fighting to eradicate the Uighur culture and ethnic identity from Xinjiang.

However, China has denied the allegations, saying "professional training" is being provided in minority camps to fight "terrorism."

Canada and the Netherlands thinking is China's treatment of Uighur Muslims as genocide.

UK Foreign Secretary Dominic Raab says the treatment of Uighurs is a violation of basic human rights.